Four Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington were named on Sept. 26 as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019 by the U.S. Department of Education in recognition of their academic achievement as America’s most successful schools. The four schools are St. Joseph’s Regional Catholic School in Beltsville, Maryland; Blessed Sacrament School in Washington, D.C.; St. Raphael School in Rockville, Maryland; and St. Peter School on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students are performing at very high levels. The awards are given annually by the U.S. Department of Education.

In 2019, 362 schools across the United States were named as National Blue Ribbon Schools, including 50 non-public schools and 312 public schools. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students.

According to a press release from the Archdiocese of Washington, the four Catholic schools in the archdiocese honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The archdiocese’s press release noted that the schools have strong test scores and a comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods, and community service is also an integral part of those schools. Both St. Joseph's Regional Catholic School and St. Raphael School are receiving the award for the first time. St. Joseph's School becomes only the second Catholic elementary school in Prince George’s County to win the award. St. Joseph's and St. Raphael School were among eight schools to receive the Blue Ribbon honor this year from the state of Maryland.

This is the second time that Blessed Sacrament School and St. Peter School are receiving the Blue Ribbon designation. Blessed Sacrament School and St. Peter School were among five schools in the District of Columbia to receive the honor this year.

Since the program began in 1982, 36 Catholic elementary or high schools in the Archdiocese of Washington have been named as National Blue Ribbon Schools, and 11 of those schools in the archdiocese have received the honor twice.

The U.S. Department of Education will formally honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and ceremony on Nov. 14 – Nov. 15, 2019 in Washington, D.C.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Catholic Schools

  • St. Joseph’s Regional Catholic School, Beltsville, Md. (2019)
  • St. Raphael School, Rockville, Md. (2019)
  • St. Peter School on Capitol Hill, Washington, D.C. (2019 and 2013)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2019 and 2012)
  • Little Flower School, Bethesda, Md. (2008 and 2017)
  • St. John’s School, Hollywood, Md. (2017)
  • St. Peter’s School, Waldorf, Md. (2017)
  • Holy Trinity School, Washington, D.C. (2016)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007 and 2016)
  • St. Patrick School, Rockville, Md. (2016)
  • St. Pius X Regional School, Bowie, Md. (2016)
  • Cardinal Hickey Academy, Owings, Md. (2015)
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Bethesda, Md. (2015)
  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, Md. (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2013)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School,  Leonardtown, Md. (2012)
  • St. Peter’s School, Olney, Md. (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, Md. (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, Md. (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, Md. (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, Md. (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, Md. (2009)
  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, Md. (2009 and 1998)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, Md. (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, Md. (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, Md. (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, Md. (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, Md. (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  •      Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Olney, Md. (2001 and 1992)
  •      Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, Md. (1997)
  •      Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, Md. (1992 and 1986)
  •      DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md. (1990 and 1983)
  •      Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, Md. (1988)
  •      Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  •      Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, Md. (1984)